Mechanics of soft and living interfaces

Research

Biological interfaces across scales, including biomembranes, the cell cortex, or epithelial sheets, are unique multifunctional materials that control key structural and mechanical functions of cells and tissues, including their shape, mechanical properties, and locomotion. At scales below 10s of microns, elasticity, hydrodynamics and chemistry become intertwined and these systems are permanently driven out of equilibrium by biological activity. Furthermore, large geometric transformations and molecular crowding lead to strong nonlinearity. Our goal is to develop theoretical models and computational methods to quantitatively understand the mechanobiology of these interfaces, in tight interaction with experiments. We hope to answer fundamental scientific questions and to transpose the underlying engineering principles of these biological interfaces into to new artificial materials.

Specific research lines include:

  • Dynamics of bilayer membranes and their interaction with membrane proteins
  • Soft adhesion mediated by specific binders
  • Cortex mechanics
  • Epithelial mechanics
  • Cell locomotion
  • Mathematical models and finite element methods for coupled systems of interfacial/bulk partial differential equations
  • Theoretical modelling of coupled chemo-elasto-hydrodynamical active systems
  • Differential geometry and mechanics

People

Group Leader

Marino Arroyo

Professor
marino.arroyo@upc.edu
View Profile

Post Doc Researchers

 

 

Sohan S. Kale
skale2@illinois.edu

 

 

Daniel Santos
daniel.santos@upc.edu

 

 

Alejandro Torres
alejandro.torres.sanchez@upc.edu
View Profile

 

 

Nikhil Walani
nikhil.walani@upc.edu

 

 

Jing Yang
jing.yang@upc.edu

   

Ph. D Students

 

 

Dimitri Kaurin
dimitri.kaurin@upc.edu

 

 

Ernest Latorre
ernest.latorre@upc.edu

 

 

Adam Ouzeri
adam.ouzeri@upc.edu

 

 

Caterina Tozzi
caterina.tozzi@upc.edu